Speak to our
travel experts
+84 912221442
Travel Documents
Visa exemption: Citizens of Japan, The Republic of Korea, Russia, Luxembourg, Switzerland, and ASEAN member countries (with valid passports) are exempted from Lao visa. The citizens of these countries can enter Laos and stay for 15-30 days without a visa. For longer stay, a visa is required.

All visitors entering Laos must possess valid passports. Visa can obtained from Lao Embassies and Consulates abroad. Tourist visa allows you to stay in Laos for up to 30 days, and can be extended (with fee) for up to 60 days. The visa processing will take between 3 to 5 working days.
To apply for the visa yourself, check out The list of Lao embassies and Consulates to see if there is a Lao embassy in your country and for contact information.
Another way to get your Lao visa before arriving in Laos is to get it at the Lao embassies in its neighbor countries; Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, China, and Myanmar depend where you travel through.
Documentary requirements for a visa
  • Next 6 months validity passport with at least one blank visa page
  • Two (2) or three (3) passport size photos.
  • Visa Application Form (available at embassy/consulate)
  • Visa fee (The visa fee varies from between US$8-42 or sometimes more depending on the agreement with the various governments)
If you want to save time and worry-free when arriving in Laos, then our advice for you it's better to get Laos visa before you start your trips.
Alternatively, You Can Obtain A Visa-On-Arrival for 30 days at the following International Port Entries. (Just prepare your valid passport, 2 passport photos and visa fee)

If you enter by air:

- Wattay International Airport in Vientiane Capital
- Luang Prabang International Airport in Luang Prabang Province
- Pakse International Airport in Champasack Province
- Savannakhet International Airport in Savannakhet

If you enter by land, you can obtain a Visa-on-Arrival at the following 13 international port entries:
China (Mohan) - Luang Namtha Province (Boten)
- Thailand (Chiang Khong) - Bokeo Province (Houay Xay)
- Thailand (Nong Khai) -Vientiane Capital (Friendship Bridge)
- Thailand - Xayabouly Province (Nam Heuang Friendship Bridge)
- Thailand (Nakhon Phanom) - Khammouane Province (Thakhaek)
- Thailand (Moukdahan) - Savannakhet Province (Friendship Bridge II)
- Thailand (Chong Mek) - Champasak Province (Vang Tao)
- Vietnam (Nam Kanh) - Xieng Khouang Province (Nong Haet)
- Vietnam (Kao Cheo) - Bolikhamxay (Nam Phao)
- Vietnam (Lao Bao) - Savannakhet Province (Dene Savanh)
- Sop Hun in Phongsaly (Laos-Vietnam)
- Na Meo in Houaphan (Laos-Viet Nam)
- Na Phao in Khammouane (Laos-Viet Nam)

Extending a Laos visa:
In the event that you need to stay longer in Laos you can extend your visa by submitting an application through a tour agency or Lao's Immigration Office in Vientiane. You should apply to extend your visa before the expire date. Foreigners who overstay in Laos will be fined $5 for each day of overstay before leaving the country.